About House of Ireland
Established in 1975 by Eileen and Andrew Galligan, House of Ireland, alongside Trinity College, is home to the widest range of Irish design along with the best luxury brands from Europe. We showcase contemporary Irish designed products inspired by traditional Irish heritage. Enjoy unrivalled collections of crystal, handcrafted jewellery and contemporary Irish knitwear. In 2018 House of Ireland opened its new flagship “destination” store at 114 Grafton street, a building of significant heritage, having once been the site of the Dublin residence of the Lord Mornington, Father of the Duke of Wellington. Immerse yourself in our selection of Irish craft and discover the stories behind each individual piece.
114 Grafton Street
114 Grafton Street was one of the first houses to be built on Lower Grafton Street, mid-18th century, and sits opposite the Provost’s House, Trinity College. It was once the Dublin residence of Lord Mornington, father of the Duke of Wellington -— the celebrated General who defeated Napoleon at the Battle of Waterloo in 1815 and subsequently served twice as prime minister of the United Kingdom.
In 1763, the building became known as Navigation House, occupied by the Commissioner of Inland Navigation. Later notable occupants included the Royal Dublin Society (1766) on the lands of 114 Grafton St, and the Royal Irish Academy from circa 1791 until 1851. In 1903, new owners, the Northern Bank, commissioned renowned Belfast architect, William Henry Lynn, to redesign the building, the historic façade of which remains intact to this current day.
In addition to our store in Dublin's centre, there are two House of Ireland stores in Dublin Airport's Terminal 1 and Belfast City Airport.